In the Zone

IMG_0916

Lately, I’ve been working on my art furiously…fitting in a few minutes here and few hours there to try to get onto canvas all the ideas that have been floating around in my head.  I really did use the summer in the way I wanted to. I rediscovered my love of art and collage and painting. I set aside the physical space and the time to explore it and to make art. I completed almost ten new pieces. And I’ve been working diligently on setting up my online Etsy shop for its premiere at the end of the month.

IMG_0917

Despite all of this, I still get that voice in my head that says, “Uhhmmm…what are you doing? Who do you think you are?” I recently saw a call for art from a local art organization that is looking for pieces for an upcoming exhibit. At first, I thought, “Absolutely! I can do that. No problem.” But then the creeping doubts came up and asked the same critical questions that have gotten in my way before. Will they like my work? Is it going to be as good as other artists’? What if it gets rejected? Or worse still…what if it gets accepted? What then? How do I explain to those “real” artists what my art means or what credentials I have that make me qualified to make it or present it?

IMG_0919

After much back and forth with that mean internal voice, I took a deep breath and said I DON’T KNOW! I don’t know if they’ll like it or if it will be accepted. I don’t know what I would say if I had to talk about my art in a public forum. But I can’t care right this second. I’ll deal with that when it comes up. Right now, I have to focus on making the absolutely best piece I can and to continue to take myself seriously so others will as well.

IMG_0920

Yesterday, I completed the collage background for the piece that I’m submitting for the exhibition I mentioned. And I’m sharing it here. It’s due in three weeks and still has a long way to go. I’ll share updates as I continue to work on it. I love what I’m working on and I love what this summer of working in the zone has done for my creative confidence. And I’m not going to let any of the critical voices (internal or external) stop me from pursuing it.

I’ll keep you posted. Wish me luck!

One thought on “In the Zone

  1. Pingback: Shero | Appleby and Stewart

Leave a Reply

