Shero

ImageThis is a sneak peek at a piece that I’ve been working on for the last few weeks. It’s going to be submitted for potential exhibition in an upcoming local art show which I mentioned to you recently. Deadline is Friday. I still have some finishing work to do on it but this is where I am so far. It took a totally different turn than I expected which, I’m beginning to think, is how the best work is born. The theme for the exhibit is The Mask and so you could really explore any type of mask in popular culture, ancient history, religious ceremonies, theatre, etc. I researched various masks and was drawn to the ancient images of Achilles with his winged helmet recreated in masks and sculpture. But I knew that I wanted to create an image that would balance the masculine with the feminine. So I decided to combine some of the very ornate Venetian masks I saw in my research with the warrior wings of Achilles. And this is what I came up with–a kind of Sacred Feminine Warrior…a Shero. It’s a mixed media collage made up of vintage postcards, stamps, maps, decorative papers, ephemera, magazine images, old letters, paint and photographs. Oh, and a little rhinestone bling🙂 What do you think? I’ll keep you posted on the exhibit.

Leave a Reply

